Junior Byles Live

Junior Byles Live at the Sierra Nevada World Music Festival in 1998.

This picture was from Junior’s first ever show outside Jamaica. This was the 5th year of the festival so they had a pretty amazing lineup, Scientist was at the mixing board and the performers included Johnny Clarke, Culture, Toots & The Maytals, Earl Zero, Jah Shaka, The Mystic Revealers, Spearhead, Tippa Irie, LKJ & Dennis Bovell, Mutabaruka, Anthony B, Salif Keita and many more, was an awesome show. I had known Junior for many years and when I heard he was performing with Chinna Smith’s High Times Players I knew I had to go.

When Chinna told me about doing the show,  I told him I wouldn’t miss it and would meet him out in California at the hotel. I had not been out west in years so I was really looking forward to getting away and seeing the show. Junior has had some metal health issues for many, many years but had been doing better in recent times but Chinna told me to watch him in case he wandered off or something. We hung out most of the show and I was with him when he went onstage. I took a spot in front of the stage to get some photos. I always liked this shot, I remember him looking at me and giving me that little smile of his. He did a great set and I was happy for him since there were so many fans there to see him, am sure he felt  the love. The rest of the show was great, Culture, Johnny Clarke and Earl Zero were among my favorites of the show. The festival is still going strong, Toots is playing again this year along with Leroy Sibbles, Israel Vibration, Cocoa Tea, Beres Hammond Alpha Blondy and many more, check it out, looks like a great show again..

Leave a Reply

