Black Uhuru

Black Uhuru rehearsing for an upcoming tour. (1992)

This image was shot at Duckie Simpson’s house just outside of Kingston. I had gone to the rehearsal to shoot some portraits for my book Reggae Island, but Don Carlos and Garth Dennis had not arrived yet. While we waited the band went over some tunes with Duckie and I was able to get some pictures.

Black Uhuru  has been one of my favorites going all the way back to the late 70’s, so it was great hanging out all day listening to them rehearse. It was like having a private show with an audience of one, me. It’s one of those things I will for sure never forget.

One comment on “Black Uhuru”

  1. Beautiful photo Brian. My favorite line-up and era for Uhuru was this reunion era from 1989-1995.


Leave a Reply

