Steel Pulse

Steel Pulse’s David Hinds performing at President Clinton’s inauguration in January 1993.

Many people were not aware that Steel Pulse were to play at President Clinton’s inauguration in 1993. They also made history that day being the first reggae band ever to play such an event. I was lucky enough to be invited along to take photos. They actually played at two events, this photo is from their show along the parade route. The other event was one of the many elegant inaugural Balls that went on that night. It was a pretty interesting time, we had this Secret Service guy with us all the time who looked just like Gary Busey, was a cool guy.

Perhaps one of the most interesting things about that trip happened to me in the elevator. I had left my hotel room to go to the Ball that evening, I get in the elevator and there was two other people there, one was civil rights icon & activist Rosa Parks, the other was the legendary photographer (activist, director, writer, musician) Gordon Parks. I’m thinking to myself what are the chances of this ever happening to me? They were in a conversation so all I could do is smile, nod and say “Hello”, they both smiled and said the same. It was a brief uplifting moment, then the doors opened.

Leave a Reply

