Augustus Pablo Live

Reggae icon Augustus Pablo live at the Ritz in New York City September 6, 1990.

This photo was from a show at the old Ritz theater which also featured Culture, Israel Vibration and Akabu. That show was probably one of the best roots reggae shows I’ve seen in the city. It was also Pablo’s first NYC appearance in five years.

2 comments on “Augustus Pablo Live”

  1. Excellent photo. I was at that show and am still upset that I let friends drag me out of there during Pablo’s set. I think it was after 3 am when we left…when did it end?
    Whatever happened to Akabu? They were pretty good.
    It took inspired booking to put together that bill!

    • Thanks, I remember getting home well after 4 a.m. after hanging out backstage a bit. Akabu, never really heard much of them after that, I think I saw them one other time.


Leave a Reply

