Jamming

Speakers are set up for the nights Sound System dance in Trench Town.

The day after Christmas (Boxing Day) I went down town to the Trench Town reading center to shoot some photos of the Christmas tree and the kids with their gifts.  My first stop was by a friend’s place and I was just in time since he was cooking up a delicious breakfast of akee & salt fish. After eating we walked around so I could take some pictures. We came across these speakers set up on Second street (I think). Every week they have a dance that plays some wicked tunes and draws a pretty good size crowd. I took a lot pictures that day but despite the holiday spirit, sunshine and kids playing, my friend later informed me that someone had been killed in a shooting on Christmas night. It’s true, death takes no holiday.

Leave a Reply

